Power quality
Input current THD (THDi) measures the harmonic distortion a UPS rectifier draws from the supply, and input power factor how much of that current does useful work. Current three-phase UPS publish THDi from under 1.5% (Socomec MODULYS GP) to 5% (Eaton 9355), most often under 3 to 5% at full load, with input power factor around 0.99 or better.

| Model | Input current THD | Input power factor | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Socomec MODULYS GP MODULYS GP, 25 to 600 kVA (400 V) | Under 1.5% | Above 0.99 | Socomec, MODULYS GP |
| Eaton 93PM 93PM 208V (North America) | 3.5% or less at 100% load | Above 0.99 | Eaton, 93PM 208V UPS page |
| Eaton Power Xpert 9395P Power Xpert 9395P, 200 to 1,200 kVA | Under 3.5%, no input filter required | 0.99 minimum | Eaton, Power Xpert 9395P page |
| Eaton 9395XC 9395XC, 1,125 to 2,250 kW, 480 V 3-wire | Under 3%, no input filter required | 0.99 for loads above 60% | Eaton, 9395XC UPS page |
| Eaton 9395XR 9395XR, 1,500 kW | Under 3% at 100% load | Above 0.99 | Eaton, 9395XR UPS page |
| APC Galaxy VS GVSUPS20KFS (20 kW, 208 V) and GVSUPS100KGS (100 kW, 480 V) | Less than 3% at full load | Not stated | Schneider Electric Canada, GVSUPS20KFS |
| APC Galaxy VX GVX500K750HS (500 kVA scalable to 750 kVA, 400 V) | Less than 3% at full load | Not stated | Schneider Electric Canada, GVX500K750HS |
| APC Galaxy VL GVL200K500DS (200 kW scalable to 500 kW, 400/480 V) | Less than 5% at full load | Not stated | Schneider Electric Canada, GVL200K500DS |
| APC Easy UPS 3S E3SUPS20KFBS (20 kVA, 208 V, internal batteries) | Less than 4% at full load | Not stated | Schneider Electric Canada, E3SUPS20KFBS |
| APC Easy UPS 3M E3MUPS120KHS (120 kVA, 400 V) | Less than 3% at full load | Not stated | Schneider Electric, E3MUPS120KHS |
| Vertiv Liebert APM2 Liebert APM2 UL, 208 V (data sheet SL-71300) | Under 3% at full linear load | 0.99 at full load | Vertiv, Liebert APM2 data sheet SL-71300 |
| Vertiv Liebert EXL S1 Liebert EXL S1 (brochure for 625 to 800 kVA) | 3.0% or less at nominal voltage and full load | 0.99 or more | Vertiv, Liebert EXL S1 625-800 kVA brochure |
| Vertiv Trinergy (newer range) Vertiv Trinergy, the newer range that follows the Trinergy Cube (brochure SL-71331) | 3% or less | 0.99 or more | Vertiv, Trinergy UPS brochure SL-71331 |
| Toshiba G9000 G9000, 100 to 1,050 kVA | Not stated | Above 0.99 | Toshiba International, G9000 series |
| ABB TLE Series ABB TLE Series 40-150 kW and 160-1000 kW UL | Less than 5% (160-1000 kW spec list) | 0.99 (160-1000 kW) | ABB US, TLE Series 160-1000 kW |
| Delta Modulon DPH DPH-300K, DPH-500K, DPH-600K (400 V) | Not stated | Above 0.99 | Delta, DPH 50-600 kW specifications |
| Eaton 9355 9355, 10 to 30 kVA | 5% | Above 0.99 typical (10 to 15 kVA); 0.99 typical (20 to 30 kVA) | Eaton, 9355 UPS page |
Sources, checked October 3, 2026: values as each manufacturer publishes them for the model shown; “Not stated” means the page we read does not give the value.
The figures are not all measured the same way. Schneider and Eaton quote THDi at full or 100% load, Vertiv quotes the Liebert APM2 at full linear load and the EXL S1 at nominal voltage and full load, and Eaton gives the 9395XC's 0.99 power factor for loads above 60%. Compare models at the same load point, and ask for the partial-load figures if the UPS will run at 30 to 50% in an N+1 or 2N design.
Eaton states that the Power Xpert 9395P (under 3.5%) and the 9395XC (under 3%) need no input filter. When a legacy UPS is replaced, check whether an input filter installed for it is still required with the new rectifier.
| Model | Output voltage THD | Load power factor without derating | Output rating (kW per kVA) | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| APC Galaxy VS GVSUPS20KFS (20 kW, 208 V) and GVSUPS100KGS (100 kW, 480 V) | Under 1% linear, under 3% non-linear | 0.7 leading to 0.7 lagging | 20 kVA = 20 kW; 100 kVA = 100 kW | Schneider Electric Canada, GVSUPS20KFS; Schneider Electric Canada, GVSUPS100KGS |
| APC Galaxy VX GVX500K750HS (500 kVA scalable to 750 kVA, 400 V) | Under 2% linear, under 3% non-linear | 0.7 leading to 0.5 lagging | 500 kVA = 500 kW | Schneider Electric Canada, GVX500K750HS |
| APC Galaxy VL GVL200K500DS (200 kW scalable to 500 kW, 400/480 V) | Under 1% linear, under 5% non-linear | 0.5 leading to 0.5 lagging | 200 kVA = 200 kW | Schneider Electric Canada, GVL200K500DS |
| APC Easy UPS 3M E3MUPS120KHS (120 kVA, 400 V) | Under 3% linear, under 5% non-linear | 0.5 leading to 0.5 lagging | 120 kVA = 120 kW | Schneider Electric, E3MUPS120KHS |
| Eaton 93PM 93PM 208V (North America) | Under 1% linear, under 5% non-linear | Unity, and 0.8 leading to 0.8 lagging | Not stated | Eaton, 93PM 208V UPS page |
| Eaton Power Xpert 9395P Power Xpert 9395P, 200 to 1,200 kVA | Under 2% linear, under 5% non-linear | Up to 0.9 leading | Rated at 1.0 power factor (kVA = kW) | Eaton, Power Xpert 9395P page |
| Eaton 9395XC 9395XC, 1,125 to 2,250 kW, 480 V 3-wire | Under 1% linear, under 5% non-linear | 0.7 leading or lagging | Unity, 1.0 (kW = kVA) | Eaton, 9395XC UPS page |
| Eaton 9395XR 9395XR, 1,500 kW | Under 1% linear, under 3% non-linear | Not stated | 1,500 kVA = 1,500 kW | Eaton, 9395XR UPS page |
| Vertiv Liebert APM2 Liebert APM2 UL, 208 V (data sheet SL-71300) | 1% or less at full linear load | Not stated | Unity | Vertiv, Liebert APM2 data sheet SL-71300 |
| Vertiv Trinergy (newer range) Vertiv Trinergy, the newer range that follows the Trinergy Cube (brochure SL-71331) | Not stated | 0.7 leading to 0.4 lagging | Up to 1 | Vertiv, Trinergy UPS brochure SL-71331 |
| Socomec MODULYS GP MODULYS GP, 25 to 600 kVA (400 V) | Under 1% linear, under 3% non-linear | Not stated | 1 | Socomec, MODULYS GP |
| Delta Modulon DPH DPH-300K, DPH-500K, DPH-600K (400 V) | 0.5% or less (linear load) | Not stated | DPH-300K and DPH-600K kVA = kW; DPH-500K 500 kVA = 450 kW | Delta, DPH 50-600 kW specifications |
| XPC M90U-80 M90U-80, 15 to 80 kW at 208/120 V | Under 2% at full load | Not stated | Unity (kW = kVA) | XPC, M90U-80 |
Sources, checked October 3, 2026: values as each manufacturer publishes them for the model shown; “Not stated” means the page we read does not give the value.
IT power supplies can present a leading power factor at light load, and the range each manufacturer accepts without derating differs: Schneider lists 0.5 leading to 0.5 lagging for the Galaxy VL and 0.7 leading to 0.7 lagging for the Galaxy VS, Eaton 0.8 leading to 0.8 lagging for the 93PM and up to 0.9 leading for the 9395P, and Vertiv 0.7 leading to 0.4 lagging for the Trinergy.
Input THD and power factor set how hard the UPS loads a standby generator. Mitsubishi lists 1.1:1 generator compatibility for the 9900B and 9900AEGIS, Toshiba calls the G9000 generator friendly, and Eaton gives the 9395XR a rectifier soft-start ramp that can be set for generators. The UPS and generator guide covers the sizing.
Generator interaction is worth checking at each preventive maintenance visit, and frames with low input THD are listed in the three-phase range online.
Eaton lists 3.5% or less at 100% load for the 93PM 208 V, with an input power factor above 0.99.
Among the models in our table, Socomec lists the MODULYS GP at under 1.5%, with an input power factor above 0.99.
Eaton states the Power Xpert 9395P and 9395XC need no input filter. For other models, compare the published THDi at your load point with the limits of the utility or generator at the site.
Schneider lists 0.7 leading to 0.7 lagging without derating for the Galaxy VS.
Tell us the application and we reply within 4 business hours with the sizing, the right system, the installation and a written quote. Three-phase installs usually need a licensed electrician, so let us know if you have one.
Brand names are trademarks of their owners and are used only to identify the equipment we service. We are not the manufacturer and are not affiliated with it.