Redundancy
UPS redundancy counts spares against N, the capacity the critical load needs. N+1 holds one module or unit more than N, so one can fail or be serviced on line. 2N builds two complete UPS systems on separate paths, each able to carry the load alone, and 2(N+1) gives each of those systems its own spare.

Schneider Electric's White Paper 75 compares the five UPS designs most often built, and ranks them on a scale of availability from 1 (lowest) to 5 (highest). Its availability figures come from a simplified model that, among other things, leaves out human error, so they read higher than a real installation; they are for comparing designs, not for promising uptime.
| Design | How it is built | What it tolerates | Maintenance exposure | Modelled availability | Tier (WP 75) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Capacity (N) | One UPS module, or paralleled modules, matched to the load | No UPS failure: the load goes to bypass, on unprotected power | Load on unprotected power during UPS, battery or downstream maintenance, typically 2 to 4 hours at least once a year | 99.92% | Tier I |
| Isolated redundant | A primary UPS feeds the load; a secondary UPS feeds the primary's static bypass | A primary module failure, through its static bypass | The whole system shuts down 2 to 4 hours a year for system-level maintenance | 99.93% | Tier II |
| Parallel redundant (N+1) | Same-size modules on one output bus, with spare capacity of at least one module | One module failing or out for service | The paralleling bus is a single point of failure; work on it or downstream exposes the load | 99.93% | Tier II |
| Distributed redundant | Three or more UPS with separate input and output feeders, to the load through PDUs and in some cases STS | One UPS failing; concurrent maintenance when all loads are dual-corded | Relies on the STS, which adds complex failure modes | 99.9989% (catcher), 99.9994% (with STS) | Tier III |
| System plus system (2N, 2(N+1)) | Two complete UPS systems on two paths, to dual-corded loads | Any single piece of equipment failing or switched off | Equipment can be maintained without sending the load to bypass | 99.99997% (2(N+1)) | Tier IV |
The Tier column is WP 75's mapping. A Tier rating covers the whole site, not the UPS alone, and WP 75 notes that Tier IV power architectures require all loads to be dual-corded.
In a parallel redundant system the modules must be identical in capacity and model. Their outputs are synchronized, they share the load evenly, and when one leaves the bus for service or after an internal fault, the others take its load at once, without sending the critical load to utility power. The system is N+1 when the spare power equals at least one module, and N+2 when it equals two.
WP 75 works an example: a room whose design load is 400 kW is an N system with one 400 kW UPS or two 200 kW UPS in parallel. To become redundant it needs two 400 kW modules or three 200 kW modules on a common bus, and that bus is sized for the non-redundant capacity: 400 kW. N+1 also leaves room to grow, if a new module is ordered when the load reaches a set share of the installed capacity.
Redundancy does not remove every weak point. The paralleling bus remains a single point of failure, upstream and downstream equipment can still fail, and service on the parallel board or controls exposes the load. That is why N+1 systems keep a static bypass and, in most cases, a maintenance bypass; see maintenance without shutdown, N+1 vs 2N.
Lightly loaded UPS modules are usually less efficient than modules loaded closer to capacity, and how much varies by manufacturer. WP 75 shows how the module size chosen for N+1 sets the normal load on each module, for the same 240 kW load:
| Modules in parallel | Total capacity | Load on each module |
|---|---|---|
| 2 x 240 kW | 480 kW | 50% |
| 3 x 120 kW | 360 kW | 66% |
| 4 x 80 kW | 320 kW | 75% |
| 5 x 60 kW | 300 kW | 80% |
Smaller modules keep each one more heavily loaded and the spare smaller, at the cost of more modules to maintain.
| Model | Redundancy and paralleling | Architecture | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| APC Symmetra PX SY40K40F (40 kW N+1, 208 V) | Listed as redundant ("Redundant: Yes", sold as 40 kW N+1) | Modular: 5 power-module slots, 4 filled, 1 free | Partly discontinued: December 31, 2025 (150 kW scalable to 250 kW model) | Schneider Electric Canada, SY40K40F |
| APC Galaxy VL GVL200K500DS (200 kW scalable to 500 kW, 400/480 V) | Listed as redundant ("Redundant: Yes") | Modular: 4 power modules installed, 6 free slots | Current | Schneider Electric Canada, GVL200K500DS |
| APC Galaxy VS GVSUPS20KFS (20 kW, 208 V) and GVSUPS100KGS (100 kW, 480 V) | Single units listed as non-redundant ("Redundant: No"); parallel kit sold separately (GVSOPT006) | Live Swap power modules | Current | Schneider Electric Canada, GVSUPS20KFS |
| APC Galaxy VX GVX500K750HS (500 kVA scalable to 750 kVA, 400 V) | Scalable 500 to 750 kVA in the frame ("Redundant: No" as configured) | Not stated | Current | Schneider Electric Canada, GVX500K750HS |
| Eaton 93PM 93PM 208V (North America) | External parallel up to 8 UPSs | Modular: up to 10 internal power modules | Current | Eaton, 93PM 208V UPS page |
| Eaton 9355 9355, 10 to 30 kVA | Parallel up to four UPSs (HotSync) | Tower with internal batteries and power distribution module | Current | Eaton, 9355 UPS page |
| Eaton Power Xpert 9395P Power Xpert 9395P, 200 to 1,200 kVA | N+1 capable; parallel up to 4 UPSs with distributed bypass, 8 with a system bypass module | Up to 2 UPMs (300 kW), 3 (600 kW) or 4 (900/1,200 kW) | Current | Eaton, Power Xpert 9395P page |
| Eaton 9395XC 9395XC, 1,125 to 2,250 kW, 480 V 3-wire | Parallel up to 2 UPSs (3 MW) | Not stated | Current | Eaton, 9395XC UPS page |
| Eaton 9395XR 9395XR, 1,500 kW | Parallel up to 4 UPSs (6,000 kW) | 12 universal power modules of 125 kW | Current | Eaton, 9395XR UPS page |
| Vertiv Liebert APM2 Liebert APM2 UL, 208 V (data sheet SL-71300) | Modular redundant; parallel up to 4 units | Modular: hot-swappable power, bypass, HMI, communication and battery modules | Current | Vertiv Canada, Liebert APM2 UL UPS 208V; Vertiv, Liebert APM2 data sheet SL-71300 |
| Vertiv Liebert EXL S1 Liebert EXL S1 (brochure for 625 to 800 kVA) | Parallel up to 8 units, distributed or centralized | Monolithic, single-module or multi-module | Current | Vertiv, Liebert EXL S1 page; Vertiv, Liebert EXL S1 625-800 kVA brochure |
| Vertiv Liebert ITA2 Liebert ITA2 3-phase, 5 to 40 kVA, 208 V | Up to 80 kW with parallel systems | Not stated | Current | Vertiv, Liebert ITA2 3-phase UPS page |
| Toshiba G9000 G9000, 100 to 1,050 kVA | Parallel up to 4 units (100 to 225 kVA) or 8 units (300 to 750 kVA) | Monolithic, 480 V 3-wire + ground | Current | Toshiba International, G9000 series |
| Mitsubishi Electric 9900B 9900B, 300, 500 and 750 kVA at 480 V | Parallel up to 8 units with a CLC; distributed bypass for multi-module | Not stated | Current | Mitsubishi Electric, 9900B UPS |
| Mitsubishi Electric 9900AEGIS 9900AEGIS, 80 to 225 kVA at 480 V | Parallel redundant or capacity, up to 4 modules | Not stated | Current | Mitsubishi Electric, 9900AEGIS UPS |
| ABB TLE Series ABB TLE Series 40-150 kW and 160-1000 kW UL | Redundant Parallel Architecture: up to 6 units (to 900 kW for the 40-150 kW model) | 40-150 kW model scales vertically from 40 to 150 kW | Current | ABB US, TLE Series 40-150 kW |
| Delta Modulon DPH DPH-300K, DPH-500K, DPH-600K (400 V) | Module and system redundancy, up to 8 units | 50 kW power modules: up to 6, 9 or 12 | Current | Delta, DPH 50-600 kW specifications |
| XPC M90U-80 M90U-80, 15 to 80 kW at 208/120 V | Not stated | Up to four hot-swappable 15 kW or 20 kW modules | Current | XPC, M90U-80 |
| Socomec MASTERYS GP4 MASTERYS GP4, 10 to 250 kVA/kW | Fault-tolerant power bricks (60-250 kW); parallel-ready | Not stated | Current | Socomec, MASTERYS GP4 |
Sources, checked October 3, 2026: values as each manufacturer publishes them for the model shown; “Not stated” means the page we read does not give the value.
The table above lists each family's published redundancy and parallel limit; the modular vs monolithic guide explains the frames. Three model points: whole units, modular or monolithic, also reach N+1 by paralleling, up to the maker's limit. Eaton lists the 9395XC at 2 units maximum (3 MW), so a 9395XC system built as N+1 carries the load of one unit. The 9395XR is built from 125 kW power modules, 12 per unit, and parallels up to 4 units (6,000 kW).
An isolated redundant system is sometimes called N+1, but it works differently: a secondary UPS sits unloaded and feeds the static bypass of the primary. It needs no paralleling bus and the two units need not match, which is why it is used to add redundancy to an existing UPS without replacing it. The secondary must take the full load in one step when the primary transfers to bypass, after running at 0% for a long time, and not every UPS can.
WP 75 cites a probabilistic risk assessment by MTechnology: both an isolated redundant and a non-redundant system showed an unreliability of 1.8% per year, while the isolated design had 30 failure modes against 7, and more room for human error.
In 2N, each path carries the full load on its own, so the parallel limits above apply to each side separately. In the 2(N+1) example in WP 75, a 300 kW load is served by four 300 kW modules, two on each of two parallel buses. Downstream, dual-corded equipment takes both paths directly; single-corded loads need a transfer switch, and WP 75 notes that a static transfer switch moves the load to its other source in about 4 to 8 milliseconds. See the bypass and STS guide and the data-centre redundancy paper.
Distributed redundant designs give concurrent maintenance, when all loads are dual-corded, with fewer modules than 2(N+1). For a 3.2 MW data centre, WP 75 counts ten 800 kW modules for 2(N+1), five per bus, against six 800 kW modules for distributed redundant. The trade: designs with STS depend on them, and WP 75 lists complex failure modes and many operating modes that are hard to test.
Redundant designs are maintained under data-centre UPS service, and modular frames that support N+1 are listed among the three-phase UPS families online.
Uptime Institute's Annual Outage Analysis 2026 finds power still the leading cause of impactful outages, with failures of UPS systems, transfer switches and generators dominant. Its 2026 resiliency survey puts UPS failures first among the causes of major power-related outages over the past three years, followed by transfer switch and generator issues, and reports that power issues caused more than one in five IT service outages in that period.
N+1 means one more UPS unit or power module than the load needs, so any single unit or module can fail or be serviced while the rest carry the load.
When a single UPS module failure, or service on one module, must not put the load on unprotected utility power. Work on the paralleling bus or controls still exposes it. If the site can run on bypass during service, N may be enough.
Eaton lists paralleling of up to four 9355 UPSs, for capacity or redundancy, with its HotSync technology.
Schneider lists the GVL200K500DS, 200 kW scalable to 500 kW, as redundant, with 4 power modules installed and 6 free slots.
Vertiv lists up to 8 units, in distributed or centralized parallel configurations.
Two complete parallel redundant (N+1) UPS systems feeding two paths. A single module failure is absorbed inside its own system, so UPS redundancy remains even during concurrent maintenance.
No. Isolated redundant uses an unloaded secondary UPS that feeds the primary's static bypass; parallel redundant N+1 shares the load across identical modules on one bus.
Tell us the application and we reply within 4 business hours with the sizing, the right system, the installation and a written quote. Three-phase installs usually need a licensed electrician, so let us know if you have one.
Brand names are trademarks of their owners and are used only to identify the equipment we service. We are not the manufacturer and are not affiliated with it.